Skip to main content


AFN set for Nkoyo Ibori classics in Oghara

By AFN Editor on Mon, 29/06/2009 - 10:56pm

The Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has set June 30 deadline for the submission of entries for the Nkoyo Ibori Classics slated to hold this weekend in Oghara, Delta State.

Duro Ikhazuagbe, the media officer of the AFN said yesterday that all entries for the meet must reach the federation’s secretariat in Abuja by Tuesday, as late registration will not be allowed. "We have now made registration easy for athletes and clubs.

All they need to do is to send us e-mail through and their registration will be treated accordingly.

"There is no room for late registration. That is the standard IAAF procedure," he noted. The Media Officer gave date of arrival in Oghara as July 3 while the one-day Classics competition holds July 4.

Events listed to be competed for by the Classics athletes include; 100m, 400m, 800m, 4×100m, Long Jump, Shot put, 110mh, High jump, 5000m, 4×400m and Hammer.

“For the women, they are to compete in 100m, 400m, 1500m, 4×100m, 4×400m, triple jump, High jump, 100mh, javelin, Discuss and 10,000m,” stressed the AFN spokesman.

All athletes who finish in the top six of all the listed events are to get the following prize monies respectively; N20, 000, N16, 000, N14, 000, N12, 000, N10, 000 and N8, 000.

Lawal wins Ladi Lawal Classics

Meanwhile, Bola Lawal of Oyo State at the weekend emerge the fastest man of the maiden Ladi Lawal Athletics Classics in Lagos.

In the absence of Onyeabor Ngwogu, winner of the Makurdi leg of the AFN Classics meet and Oghoghene Egworo the runner up, Bola simply strolled to a modest 10.51 to pick the title and the N20, 000 prize money at stake.

Enugu athlete, Christopher Nwanze (10.65) and Henry Azike of the Police team won the silver and bronze respectively.

In the women version, Agnes Osazuwa and Susan Akene (both of the Civil Defence team) renewed their rivalry on the tracks of the University of Lagos Sports Complex with the former smiling away with the sprint title. Osazuwa hit the finish line in 11.3 while Akene clocked 11.4.

Another of their NSCDC mate, Helen Emedolu (11.5) won the bronze to complete a clean sweep for the Para-military team.

AFN News


Upcoming Events


  • Results -1st AFN All Comers 2019 - Ijebu Ode.pdf

    VIEW: application/pdf

  • Relay-Results-AFN-U18-U20-trackandfield-championships-Ilaro-2019.pdf

    VIEW: application/pdf

  • Results-AFN-U18-U20-trackandfield-championships-Ilaro-2019.pdf

    VIEW: application/pdf